-
Popular Posts
-
Search
-
Recent Posts
Follow for New Updates
Tags
amazon analytics api apple blog browser chrome chromium Design dropbox error extension facebook firefox google greasemonkey ipad javascript jQuery keyboard linux lion mac Marketing mysql os x osx php plugin project quicksilver scam search SEO social spam ssl themes twitter unix ux video windows woo wordpress
Tag Archives: spam
THRYLL.COM Scam?
Yesterday I received an e-mail inviting me to join THRYLL.COM promising “THRYLL.COM is a Members-Only community offering top apparel and gear from the most Extreme Action Sports brands at up to 70% off” and was a little worried. It reminded me a lot of getting an e-mail from an unknown company called ShoppyBag where someone had tagged a photo of me and which required me to log in before seeing the photo, after which you entered your contact or email information and all of your friends were invited in the same way, and never actually being able to log in. So this is what I thought Thryll.com was at first glance. I created this blog entry to talk about the laundry list of things that Thryll.com was doing wrong which made me think they were sketchy. So, below is the list of reasons that I had marked them off as a scam, however, the company does look to be actively engaged in remedying these problems (see their comments below – they e-mailed me with much of the same info) and I have to give them credit for trying to fix these things, even though they are not all fixed yet, they are working on it. So I have not logged in and ordered anything from them, but I encourage people who have to post comments below talking about their experience. So, here is the list of problems with Thryll.com that I found on 10-18-2011: (fixed) Absolutely no information or contact … Continue reading
ELIXIO Scam
You may get an email from ELIXIO – like the one below. Don’t reply to the e-mail. Just mark it as SPAM. Leave a comment below if you, too, are a target of this unsolicited e-mail. ELIXIO is a scam, and here are the reasons you should not trust Elixio: The host that “elixio.net” is on is a $10/month shared web host. Can’t be that big a social network. Elixio does not use SSL for signups / sign in Their e-mails do not use a certified mailer such a constant contact or vertical response. They don’t have a trusted opt-out link. If you do sign up they only allow an alphanumeric password – no symbols? This is poor programming and a lack concern of security. You have been invited to apply for ELIXIO membership. ELIXIO is a private, exclusive and invitation-only online community, social events and information exchange network. ELIXIO members are influential leaders in the financial, fashion and luxury industries as well as academic and social leaders. To join, please enter your invitation code using the link below. BELOW IS YOUR INVITATION CODE WE HAVE SENT IN OUR PREVIOUS EMAIL: invitation code: 1yduebe To complete your membership application please follow the link below to our membership application form. http://www.elixio.net/signup.php Sincerely, ELIXIO Membership Team NYC/Miami/Boston/Los Angeles/London/Paris/Milan/Dubai If you no longer wish to receive these emails, please reply to this message with “Unsubscribe” in the subject line. ELIXIO Screenshots If you do sign up for ELIXIO you’ll experience the following screens. … Continue reading
Wayne Johnson Scam / 206-337-3198
It seems Wayne Johnson is sending scam messages. Message Example 1: Good day, we require to know if you can supply some cabinetry for us.We’ll like to know the types and dimensions of cabinetry that you do have in your outfit so that we can make a choice,and also advise if you accept credit card as a form of payment,wish you all the best in business and we’ll be looking forward on hearing from you soon. best regards Wayne Johnson Message Example 2 Reported here via Laura Thomas. Laura says: I have gotten quite a few emails from this person. The phone numbers are bogus, and I am pretty sure that he has been wasting my time for a week trying to get some kind of information from me. From: wayne johnson [mailto:wayne.johnson65@gmail.com] Sent: Friday, July 22, 2011 4:59 PM To: ALM Fine Cabinetry Subject: Re: product info Sounds good.I will like you to use the details below and prepare a formal quote for us so that we can proceed further : New Mission Foundation Center (newly established) 1006 Meadowlane Dr. Sturgis,MI,49091 P : 248-562-8725 F : 206-337-3198 Wayne Johnson 620 S Amos Ave Springfield, IL 62704 P : 626-692-8364 We’re working on a commercial project,these units are going to be shipped to one of our newly established project branch located in Singapore and we’ll be recommending you with a freight company to come and pick the units at your location.What lead time are we looking at.How long have you … Continue reading
Fix “pakcyberarmy.net” Website Hack
If you are seeing this code, your website has been hacked: ~ Call 911 y0u g0t Hacked by Pak Cyber Army ~ <=Shak=> ~ If your website has been hacked and the pakcyberarmy.net spam is showing up, this is how you can fix it: This exploit usually only affects the root index file, perhaps that is index.html or index.php. Restore this file to a saved, earlier version, or rename it to something like index.txt or index.bak if you need to start from scratch. You may also want to look at the file-modification time to see when the file was last modified to get some idea of when the attack occurred. You should check the server logs and look for suspicious FTP activity, or unusually HTTP requests, especially ones with GET parameters or POST data. You should also check your .htaccess file for rewrite rules which will be redirecting visitors. If you have shell access run this command to see all files changes within the last 24 hours: find ~ -mtime -24 You can change ~ to ~/www or the path to your web root as needed.
Mrs.Turner Clarissa Ann
Got a spam e-mail from Mrs.Turner Clarissa Ann / Joe Crowley. Below is what the message said. Did you get one too? Leave a note in the comments below! :) Good day, I am Mrs.Turner Clarissa Ann. I have an Offer that you will help me to handle and it will benefit you now and in the future. If you are interested, kindly respond via mail: (mrsturnerc814@gmail.com) to enable me forward you further information. Regards. Mrs.Turner Clarissa Ann
Summer Avery – Craigslist Spam
Just wanted to let you know that Summer Avery also appears to be spamming Craigs list. Here is the message I received today: Hello. i came accross you’re add on Craigslist, i was just wondering if you’d be interested in a way to work at home? With the new year, a lot of people’s resolutions were to get a job… let me know if you’re lookin for a job and you are a serious worker. Don’t reply to this nonsense! These spammers / bots are looking to harvest e-mail addresses or attempt fraudulent transactions. Did you get a similar message? Please, leave a note below :)
Cliff Halliday (vicktadeo@hotmail.com) & similar craigslist spam
There is a new bot on Craigslist today mass mailing people. If you get any messages, especially from your Craig’s List posting, from a Cliff Halliday with an e-mail address of vicktadeo@hotmail.com, then it’s spam, so delete it :) Here are some other names and e-mail addresses I believe are being used for spam on Craigs List: facebuffo@hotmail.com (thanks ktina!) Shannon Popp – marcystoress45@gmail.com Chris Bolcato – reality_check_27@yahoo.com Update (12/30) – There seems to be some new spam regarding Cliff Halliday and something to do with the “CEO” of Craigslist – this is also spam! Hope this helps. Please tell others about your spam message in the comments to help identify these threats / annoyances :)
Craigslist hi there/howdy/hello e-mail
There appears to be a new SPAM robot attacking craigs list ads. The messages are coming from hotmail. I got two from these addresses: erosat vireyte <vireyteenos@hotmail.com> eybelo inatsceal <einatscealeengu@hotmail.com> The messages just have the text “howdy” and ‘hi t”h:ere’ It seems like as long as you don’t reply to these messages there is no big threat from on going spam as they only have a temporary e-mail alias from the ad.
Akismet
Akismet, which my eyes want to read as Askimet, has just been installed on my blog. Hope this keeps spam away. Will be working to add Google Analytics next. I also really like statcounter.com’s UI, but they have some security issues (use of SSL for login, sensitive data, etc) and also I am finding that their javascript code is sort of obtrusive, and that it interferes with jQuery’s document.ready method, causing a delay after the page is actually loaded and before jQuery executes.

