Tag Archives: scam

USIEC Scam – Fake Award

There is currently a scam going on by a company calling themselves the “US Institute for Excellence in Commerce” in which they email companies such as Marketing Firms and Law Offices and tell them they’ve won an award – and they have the award and press kit and other items available – but these must be “purchased” which is where the scam comes into place – this company is selling fictitious awards. They send a message saying something like: Each year, the US Institute for Excellence in Commerce (USIEC) panel identifies firms that have demonstrated excellence in their respective fields and achieved commercial recognition. Your firm has been one of those selected this year and this award exemplifies that distinguished accomplishment. Here are some examples of the awards they have on their site: Here is a link to one of the “awards” If you have any thoughts about if they are real, check the creation date for their domain name, registered only a few days before January 2014: whois usiec.org Domain Name:USIEC.ORG Domain ID: D170536983-LROR Creation Date: 2013-12-28T22:42:31Z Updated Date: 2014-02-27T03:46:26Z Were you affected by this too? Leave a comment below.

Posted in Marketing | Tagged | 1 Comment

Spam: College Collaborative Networks

I got the following spam message below for the “College Collaborative Networks” which looks like a really shady scam and attempt at targeting people who sign up with junk mail. The domain referenced in the e-mail is ccnets.org but the one that loads in the browser is actually weavespace.com. The unsubscribe e-mail address, which I would not recommend e-mailing, is of the domain wikinets.org. I would recommend marking this unsolicited e-mail as spam and deleting it. Leave note below if you received a similar e-mail. Dear University Users, The College Collaborative Networks at http://www.ccnets.org is now open for sign up While a social network is for sharing of personal news and events, a college collaborative network is for sharing of resources (including data, knowledge and tools) among its members (faculty, staff, students and alumni). In the simplest case members can collaborate to create a comprehensive repository of resources. As specific needs arise further collaborations among individual members can spin off more collaborative networks. With a free membership you are entitled to share, and contribute, resources in the network, and connect to other networks including various knowledge collaborative networks across campuses. You are also entitled to create your own collaborative networks of any kind so others can join. We look forward to your participation! Sincerely, Jeff Kitson [email protected] College Collaborative Networks We apologize if you recevive multiple copies of this message; to unscubscribe please mailto:[email protected]

Posted in Random | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Meeting Tomorrow – thebluebook.com (scam)

I recently received the following message from thebluebook.com after repeatedly requesting to be removed from their mailing list which I had repeatedly received unsolicited spam e-mails. They are targeting small business owners, asking the business owners to pay them to join their network to have the potential of receiving work from “industry buyers” Message: I’ll be in your area tomorrow Wednesday June, 13th. Can we get together for 20 minutes? I need qualified commercial sub-contractors in my network to service our industry buyers and I’d like to find out what you do and who you work for. Thanks! Wayne Hall Account Manager The Blue Book Building and Construction Network [email protected] cell: (336) 991-7610 http://www.thebluebook.com I strongly advise you to avoid thebluebook.com at all costs.

Posted in Marketing | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Rejuvaskin 888-377-2226 Scam

I recently had a odd charge show up on my credit card statement: Rejuvaskin 888-377-2226 I don’t know what this is from but the phone number points to this company in St. Joseph, Missouri: Package Deal 2400 Frederick Ave. Suite 312 Saint Joseph, MO 64506 Phone: 888-377-2226 Fax: 816-676-0600 Email: [email protected] Web site URL: http://www.asisupplier.com/ I looked up the WHOIS information on that website (which does not load in my browser) and found: Advertising Specialty Institute Inc. 4800 Street Road Trevose, Pennsylvania 19053 United States I researched Rejuvaskin but apparently this charge has nothing to do with Rejuvaskin or other companies that sell it (I called the Rejuvaskin company), then after calling my credit card company they confirm that the phone number is correct for the merchant who charged my card. I have been trying to get in contact with Advertising Specialty Institute Inc. but their phone number just gives me a recorded message and then hangs up. I’m going to try and file with the BBB next. I do remember signing up for a free trial but I never authorized my credit card to be billed and now it has been billed three times for $79.99. I don’t have $79.99 to throw away and I have been billed three times on March 7, March 31, and now on May 1. Maybe this is not a scam but I am going to assume it is until I can get in contact with Package Deal / Advertising Specialty. Please leave a … Continue reading

Posted in Marketing | Tagged , | 12 Comments

BrItTaNy McCuRdY wants to be your friend on Windows Live

Got a SPAM email message this morning: BrItTaNy McCuRdY wants to be your friend on Windows Live Leave a comment if you’ve received it too?

Posted in Marketing | Tagged | Leave a comment


Posted in Marketing | Tagged , | 11 Comments


Posted in Marketing, Random | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Wayne Johnson Scam / 206-337-3198

Posted in Marketing, Tech Opinion | Tagged , | 33 Comments

Scam: Trademarkdns / HongKong NewName

Posted in Tech Tips | Tagged | 1 Comment

Shtyle.fm: Another Scam

Posted in Marketing, Tech Tips | Tagged | Leave a comment