You may get an email from ELIXIO – like the one below. Don’t reply to the e-mail. Just mark it as SPAM. Leave a comment below if you, too, are a target of this unsolicited e-mail.
ELIXIO is a scam, and here are the reasons you should not trust Elixio:
- The host that “elixio.net” is on is a $10/month shared web host. Can’t be that big a social network.
- Elixio does not use SSL for signups / sign in
- Their e-mails do not use a certified mailer such a constant contact or vertical response. They don’t have a trusted opt-out link.
- If you do sign up they only allow an alphanumeric password – no symbols? This is poor programming and a lack concern of security.
You have been invited to apply for ELIXIO membership. ELIXIO is a private, exclusive and invitation-only online community, social events and information exchange network. ELIXIO members are influential leaders in the financial, fashion and luxury industries as well as academic and social leaders. To join, please enter your invitation code using the link below.
BELOW IS YOUR INVITATION CODE WE HAVE SENT IN OUR PREVIOUS EMAIL:
invitation code: 1yduebe
To complete your membership application please follow the link below to our membership application form.
http://www.elixio.net/signup.php
Sincerely,
ELIXIO Membership Team
NYC/Miami/Boston/Los Angeles/London/Paris/Milan/Dubai
If you no longer wish to receive these emails, please reply to this message with “Unsubscribe” in the subject line.
ELIXIO Screenshots
If you do sign up for ELIXIO you’ll experience the following screens. They collect a lot of personal information. I recommend not giving that out to them.
Signup (Step 2)

Account Overview Page

I got an Elixio invitation “by accident” and registered an account. I poked around a ferw times over a month or so. It’s basically a medium sized list of fake accounts and “entrepreneurs”. Oh and “social media gurus”. No real people. Really boring.
Yes its a complete scam… I have put it in spam….
will also complain to google saying its a fraud site..
Many thanks from a “frenchie” for your advice ! I’ve just get this “invitation” today, and I was a little bit hesitate when (thank you to Google !) I’ve founded your site….
On the other side, you’d also read this => http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/pda/2010/jun/21/social-networks-emerging
So, what is real…and false ….!
Regards